NOT by association

This wonderful state of Illinois has been my home for the last eight years.  It has been a good home.  But just because I live here, does not mean that I play by the political rules of this lovely state, rules that seem to have been set up back in the day of the “gangsta” and seem to still hold sway today.  During the whole Blagojevich scandal, every time I spoke with my Dad he would mention things like “you people up there” and “you and Blago…..”.  So I would just like to reiterate: JUST BECAUSE I LIVE HERE DOES NOT BY DEFAULT ASSOCIATE ME WITH CORRUPT POLITICIANS!  I did not vote for Blagojevich.  Nor did I “vote” for Burris, since Burris was appointed.  Nor do I actually live in the city of Chicago, where most of the “politiking” stuff goes on.  I live wayyyyy up in the northern burbs, almost in Wisconsin.  So I think you should associate me with Wisconsinites – who doesn’t love cheese? or butter?

I do have to say, though, that this state is never boring.

Gov. Quinn ordered an investigation Thursday into how Sen. Roland Burris’ son landed a state job, a move that follows a new Burris controversy that Republicans have dubbed “Kid Pro Quo.”

This was reported this morning, after other controversy over Burris doing some “fundraising” for Blagojevich.  What is interesting about this new scandal, is that Burris’ son was appointed as Senior Councel of the Illinois Housing Authority after he had been sanctioned with a $34,000 tax lein on his home and his mortgage company decided to foreclose.   

The only reason that I’m writing about this is because of the whole housing market crash thing.  I have wanted to purchase my own home for as long as I can remember.  The only thing that has held me back is the knowledge that I really can’t afford one.  End of story.  What angers me is the irresponsibility that other people take with their finances and then, oops, when they get into trouble, people like me (who have done nothing wrong) have to pay the price for it.  I’m not saying that I am perfect with my money, but at least I have NO credit card debt, I manage to pay my bills on time, and I DON’T purchase things that I can’t afford, like a new home.  Burris Junior – GROW UP and get a real job and then pay your mortgage just like the rest of us.

Okay, I’m off my soapbox now.  You can resume your daily duties.  Thanks for reading.

2 thoughts on “NOT by association

Comments are closed.