the black hole of knitting

It has been 12 whole days now since I finished the Rusty Clapotis (which, by the way someone thinks sounds like a venereal disease to which I can only say: thanks a lot!  I’m sure my MOM appreciates that! besides which it is a FRENCH word and is pronounced NOTHING like what you’re thinking…so there!) and it has been 12 whole days of absolutely NO knitting desire. None.  And knitting is something that I usually have on the brain, so I’m not sure what is wrong with me.  Here are my theories:

  1. It took me so long to finish the Rusty Clapotis that I am actually burned out on knitting.  While this is a strong possibility, it is not the most likely because knitting has been an obsession for the last 3 years and I don’t think obsessions just simply vanish overnight.
  2. The thought of picking up on (1) mittens on which I’m stuck or (2) socks that are knit with yarn finer than that which I knit the Rusty Clapotis just makes me sick to the stomach.  This doesn’t seem likely either, since I’m actually excited about wearing my first pair of hand knit socks.
  3. There is a phenomena out there in space called The Black Hole of Knitting and it has actually sucked me into its vortex and swipped out all desire to knit.  This one seems the most plausible.

So now that I’ve established what the problem is, I need to figure out how to get out of it.  I perused a knitting catalog/magazine last night and that sparked nothing.  I logged onto Ravelry this morning and still nothing.  I have a pair of Socks in a Box sitting on my dresser and I’ve been ignoring it (and they are really cute socks too – they’ll be perfect for Olivia and they would introduce me to stranded color work where you knit with 2 colors on the same row to form a pattern which is something that I’ve never done before) so even the spark of a new and challenging project gives me nothing to work with.

PLEASE, SOMEONE HELP PULL ME OUT OF THIS BLACK HOLE OF KNITTING BEFORE I GO CRAZY!

Now, onto other things.  School starts this week and I’ve actually done something that I’ve never done before.  I’ve actually put together a schedule.  Imagine that.  A schedule of tasks/readings/projects/papers and other things that I need to get done.  AND SCHOOL HASN’T EVEN STARTED YET!  We’re talking a VERY detailed schedule, which so far I have kept (being only 8:10 on the first day of The Schedule) and am actually very excited to implement.  There are only 2 problems that I can foresee.  1.  Being in the vortex of The Black Hole of Knitting, I did not schedule any knitting time (except for the Tuesday Yarn Lunch here on campus during which I don’t actully have to knit but I still go for the support).  This could pose a big problem when, and if, I ever emerge from The Black Hole of Knitting.  But I’ll cross that bridge when I come to it.  The second potential problem is that I have not really allowed for eating in the schedule.  Now for some of you who know me may realize that there is some *storage* that could be lived off of in case of emergency.  I’m actually all for that.  However (and this is a big one), I love to eat and so I don’t really see the storage thing being implemented very well.  So this is one area that I need to work out on the schedule.  (I probably have to also go to the grocery store since I’m out of just about everything, but that’s another story and it is not currently on the schedule, so I’ll have to worry about that another day.)

So there it is.  My life in a nut shell.  Thanks for participating.

4 thoughts on “the black hole of knitting

  1. K1Frog2 says:

    Knit a hat. A one skein, maybe even chunky yarn hat. This is fast, fun, and will fill your black hole no problem. Whenever I am feeling overwhelmed with my current projects, I pick a small easy project to regain my perspective. It works!

  2. I’m with Kate – find something easy to work on like a hat or scarf.

    And, thank goodness I wasn’t the only one who thought the SSMO’s real name sounded like VD. 😉

  3. Of course I know how to pronounce clapotis, I lived in Belgium for 16 years – it’s that little sound that water makes when it hits the side of a boat on a calm day. But I stand my ground when I say that it SOUNDS like an STD when combined with the word “rusty”. An unfortunate linguistic accident, and thanks Teryn for backing me up there.

    IMHO you will get out of the knitting black hole faster if you don’t stress about it. Take a deep breath, fix yourself a nutritious snack (or go to Chipotle) and read some theology. Your brain will soon be urging you to knit in order to escape the Big Ideas with which it is being bombarded (or to process them). Knitting and theology are obviously twin activities as they both involve raveling and unraveling. So your problem is not enough studying.

  4. Mom says:

    You will find your way out of the black hole–just think of what you always tell me–we are going on an adventure. This time it is an adventure of a different sort.

Comments are closed.