the calm before the storm

I’ve been entirely swamped at work lately, which is why I haven’t updated my blog.  It has been nothing but rush, rush, rush since Christmas.  First I got sick and then when I finally recovered enough to think I had the SSMO to finish.  (Now that the SSMO is finished, I want to give it its proper name: The Rusty Clapotis.)  I knit about 14 inches in 2 days, which is an astronomical amount of knitting for me.  (Sadly, since I finished The Rusty Clapotis I have had no desire to knit.  I think I’m on knitting overload.)  Once back my waking hours have been spent with work.  My glorious programming (and cushy) job has been busy, busy, busy.  I am just now at a point where I can breathe.  So I find myself tonight watching an episode of Pushing Daisies (ABC) and writing this blog.

I want to let you all know about a book that I just finished reading*.  It is called Someone Knows My Name by Lawrence Hill and is absolutely fabulous.  It is about a woman who is stolen from Africa in the mid-18th century, sold into slavery in South Carolina, escapes and works for the British during the Revolutionary War, is set free in Nova Scotia and then ends up moving to Sierra Leone as a free woman.  Then she goes to England to work with the abolitionists.  It is a sweeping epic with a lot of history and is extremely well researched; besides the fact that it is a very touching and moving story.  I highly recommend.

So school starts next week and I don’t know if I am ready.  I’m taking 2 classes, one is what Trinity calles a “Quad A” and will end the week before spring break.  Which means that the first 9 weeks will be extremely intense and the second 9 weeks will be more comfortable.  Sigh.  Plugging right along.  The storm begins next week.

One thought on “the calm before the storm

  1. The pic you showed me of the SSMO, sorry, Rusty Clapotis (which actually sounds like a venereal disease, sorry) was so inspiring. If you remember to pass on the pattern (with your own yarn specifications) I might actually start my first knitting project in years!

    Thanks for the book recommendation; I will add it to my wishlist. What exactly are your classes about?

Comments are closed.