almost missed the train (true story this time…)

I’ve had a day.  It is one of those days when you wake up and know that work is not a good idea.  I needed to get up at 6:15 this morning so that I could grab some tea and a bagel and get on the 7:30(~ish) train.  I always leave myself some breathing room time-wise because, well, things can happen.  For whatever reason, my body woke up at 5:15 and for some reason unknown, I thought it was 6:15.  I jumped into the shower, almost in a tizzy, wanting to make sure, really, really sure that I made that 7:30~ish train.  Then I looked at my watch.  It was 5:20.  So I went back to bed.

Got up at the real time and got ready and was out the door by 6:50.  Was at the station by 7:10.  Purchased my tea and bagel and thought “wow, I have some time to sit and eat my bagel”.  So I sat.  At 7:20, I thought “well, perhaps I should start to make my way up to the train.”  So I went.  As soon as I stepped foot on the train the doors closed.  It was that close.  The train is a 7:25 train, not a 7:30~ish train. 

So my 2 near misses this morning got me to thinking.  Is it worth it to live in the city?  This is what I came up with.

Top 5 Reasons to Live in the City

  1. It is romantic.  Enough said.
  2. I could walk everywhere, thereby almost guaranteeing some form of exercise at least twice a day.
  3. I could take the train and do a lot of reading and/or knitting.
  4. I could be a part of the Lake Forest College “buddy” system and hang out on the train with the cool people.
  5. I could sell my car and be free of that financial burden.  The other reason to sell the car is that I don’t want to pay for parking or drive around the entire city looking for a parking spot that just happens to be 5 miles from where I live.  So I’d rather not have the car if I lived in the city.

So, here are the Top 5 Reasons Why NOT to Live in the City

  1. I could keep my car and go anywhere I wanted to whenever I wanted to, including driving up to Door County for a mini-vacation.
  2. I could have my friends that live up here (Lake County) come for a visit, since they rarely wander outside of county boundaries.
  3. I could actually go places and not have to schedule around the trains.  Case in point: last night I didn’t get home until 11 PM because I had to wait for the train. 
  4. I would not have to walk everywhere, thus almost guaranteeing that I would not need a knee replacement sooner rather than later.
  5. At some point the romance will wear off.  It always does.

So where does this leave me?  Since it seems to be a wash, I’ll stay where I am for now and enjoy the 2-3 day jaunts into the city whenever my friends go out of town and let me stay in their condo.

But you know what I kept thinking about last night as I was trying to fall asleep, and I could hear the cars honk, and the trains roll by, and the various city noises?  I kept wanting to sing this:

What a beautiful noise
Comin up from the street
Got a beautiful sound
Its got a beautiful beat

Its a beautiful noise
Goin on everywhere
Like the clickety-clack
Of a train on a track
Its got a rhythm to spare

Its a beautiful noise
And its sound that I love
And its fit me as well
As a hand in a glove
Yes it does, yes it does

What a beautiful noise
Comin up from the park
Its the song of the kids
And it plays until dark

Its the song of the cars
On their furious flights
But theres even romance
In the way that they dance
To beat of the lights 

If you want to hear the song, click here. It is one of my all-time favorite Neil Diamond songs. (Yes, I admit it – I am a Neil Diamond fan.  A way HUGE fan – I own 31 LP’s and several CD’s of his and if you even decide to tease me about it, then we won’t be friends anymore.  I will love ND more than you.  😉 )  This link will take you to a page where you can read the full lyrics and then if you click on the “play” button, it will create for you an on-demand radio station (don’t worry, you don’t need to sign up or give our your email address or anything except just listen).

One thought on “almost missed the train (true story this time…)

  1. shirlee says:

    I’m enjoying visiting Wash Island and living in the city vicariously through you. Thanks for the updates.

Comments are closed.