Vacation, part 3 (reading and knitting)

Vacation.  Nature. Relaxation.  Time.  Four ingredients to a perfect day.  Then add books and knitting and this makes a bomb of a vacation day.  My plan was to read 2 books – 2 relativelely short, lively books that should have not taken more than 2 days each to read.  I had even read the first book half-way through already, which should mean that it would take me one day to read the first book and leave me three days to read the second book.  Unfortunately it didn’t work that way.  Book number one is Lost in a Good Book by Jasper Fforde, the sequel to The Eyre Affair, which if you haven’t read it – it is the absolute funniest book you’ll have read in a long, long time.  Jasper Fforde has the wierdest sense of humor that a man could posess.  His books contain bookworms that can fling people into books, regenerated dodo birds, Literature Detectives and neanderthols.  Sound wierd?  They are.  But they are some kind of hilarious wierd.

While the reading was slow, I think you can imagine that I can’t read and knit at the same time.  (I’m sure that some people can, but I don’t know how they do it – it’s like patting your head and rubbing your tummy at the same time, something else I can’t do with grace.)  So while I was knitting, I was listening to The Story of Edgar Sawtelle by David Wroblewski.  I’m only 3 hours into the story, and it is starting off a little slow, but it is interesting.  In one of the chapters, the story is told by a dog.  Who wouldn’t love a story as told by a dog?  As to the knitting, the pub was a little on the dark side and so the knitting was on the slow side.  I think I only progressed about 1.5 inches, which is a repeat and a half of the pattern.  Progress is progress.

The weather on the Island was perfect, although slightly on the chilly side.  It didn’t rain on us while we were up there – perfect! – but it was a little on the windy side.  We attempted to sit on a beach on Friday and it took Lee Ann about 30 minutes to get a fire going (sorry Lee Ann, your secret is out…) and it only took me about 30 minutes longer than that to freeze.  Lee Ann was gracious, though, and was willing to pack up and leave – after eating a few hotdogs, of course – couldn’t let the fire to go to waste!

I will have some more pictures up tomorrow – mainly of the lighthouses that we visited.  I actually got 3 stamps in my passport!  Woohoo!  (For those who don’t know, there is Lighthouse Passport program sponsored by the United States Lighthouse Society.  Each passport  has 60 “boxes” in it that can get stamped.  Once you’ve completed each of the first four passports you fill, you’ll receive a patch – bronze, silver, gold and platnum.  I’m at 5.  I think this may take a while.)

