balancing life at the age of 40 (well, almost 40)

It is hard to believe that it has taken me nearly 20 years of my adult life to realize that I need balance.  Balance is what makes me productive, lively and engaged.  Balance allows me to get through the drudgery things that must be done and allow me to savor the things which actually enrich my life.

I’m heading into a very busy fall semester.  I’m working full time at a job (one that I love btw), taking 2 classes at Trinity, leading a small women’s bible study at church and a small group leader of 8th grade girls who are going through our church’s “confirmation” class.  Can I just say B-U-S-Y?   I’m not telling you all this because I want/need kudos or acknowledgement, just to say that I’m a busy person.  Aren’t we all?

I was reflecting this morning that I’m not really overwhelmed at this point, which is unusual for me.  So I got to thinking why, perhaps, I’m not overwhelmed.  The one word that came to me was: balance.  Simple little word that seems to have big implications.  So then I got to thinking why it seems that I now have balance in my life when it didn’t happen before?  I’m going to call it a change in routine.  I had decided last week (independent of the desire for balance) that there are some things in my life that I really need to focus on changing.  One of them is the fact that I never seem to have enough time to read/study my bible and spend time in prayer.  So last Monday I got up just a little bit earlier and had time to sit and read/study/pray.  I’ve been doing that for almost 2 weeks now and it seems to have added some balance to my life.

The other thing that has added balance is, naturally, my knitting.  Last spring I was not able to knit on a very regular basis – maybe only 1 hour a week regularly – but this semester I’ve got at least 2 hours a week to knit.  That one extra hour seems to add just a little more balance.

The other change I’ve made is trying to regulate my “work” hours.  Odd, I know, but I’ve not been very good about this.  Tuesday – Friday I’m going to work 8:30 – 5:00, what are called “normal business hours” here at the college.  This has helped in 2 ways.  One, it allows me to spend some extra time in the morning in my bible study/prayer time and, two, it gives me normalcy.  I can’t explain it, but there it is.  Balance and normalcy in the face of stress.  I wonder how long this will last?  Will it be a lesson learned?  Stay tuned for that answer (I’m going to stay tuned in as well…I’m eager to know the answer).

2 thoughts on “balancing life at the age of 40 (well, almost 40)

  1. K1Frog2 says:

    If you knit even more, you will have so much balance in your life that you reach nirvana! (At least, that’s the theory I’m going with)

  2. Mom says:

    Balance is good—but, (this is a Mom thing), try to add a little time for nutrition. You left those recipe magazines at your sister’s. If you still want them, let me know and I will retrive them and send them to you. Love, Mom

Comments are closed.