that thing called the "telephone"…

I can imagine back before the invention of the thing called the “telephone” that people would just drop by unannounced.  I mean, how could they know you were home unless they just stopped by?  Things have really changed since then and yet some people just don’t use the technology.  Take for instance my Mom.  I was sitting in my sister’s livingroom knitting happily away on the SSMO when all of a sudden my Mom is at the front door.  Honestly, if the door had been unlocked she would have walked right in on me.  Phone?  Never occurred to her.  Luckily my sister keeps the door locked so I was able to toss the SSMO in a bag and get it out of sight, but really, Mom.  Phone ahead.  Please.  (This is one of the reasons that I maintain you can’t live too close to family.  I love my family dearly, please don’t misunderstand me.  But a distance of more than, say, 10 miles, cuts down on the “oh, I just thought I would drop by…” kind of thing.  If I could only get them to use the phone, that would be a different story.)

One thought on “that thing called the "telephone"…

Comments are closed.