The SSMO and the fiber art fair

I blogged a few weeks ago about the “stash” that I’m trying hard not to add to.  This is due mainly to the fact that I’m going to attempt to purchase a house next year and I figured that this is one of those things that I don’t actually need….re: there is a difference between “need” and “want” (or so my Mom has always *tried* to teach me…perhaps not a lesson well learned).  Well, if you read my post from last week, you’ll know that I went to the Midwest Folk and Fiber Art Fair on Saturday with Kate.  We went mostly because we went last year and, hey, It’s always good to see what’s out there, right?

The MFFAF was wonderful.  There were easily twice as many vendors as last year.  Because of this the location was moved a near by community college.  Part of the Fair was outside and part was inside.  I really liked the inside part, mostly because walking on uneven ground for long periods of time really bothers my knee (it is still bothering me from 5 days ago!).  I have to say that I restrained myself really, really well.  I only purchased 4 skeins of yarn, 2 books and 2 bars of handmade soap.  The books were totally unnecessary and this was the only thing I really splurged on could have lived with out.  There were novels about knitting and not even real knitting books.

But, what I did find was the PERFECT yarn for my SSMO!  The vendor had a garment made with this colorway and when I saw it I knew that it was going to be for Mom.  Since she periodically pipes in here and since this is a Super Secret Mom Object, I’m going to post the pictures on Ravelry (my name is tjbrice over there) and I should have some pictures up soon. 

The thing that I really liked about the MFFAF was that it was about art – anything that has to do with fiber.  They had a juried art show along with all the vendors selling their wares, and it was really, really cool to walk around and see all sorts of quilted wall hangings, wet felting hangings and all sorts of other fine art objects. 

Oh, and I also got to pet an alpaca.  I’ll post a picture tomorrow.  Stay tuned!

(PS – my mom has sugested that I re-acronym the SSMO to the SoSSMO: the “sort of super secret mom object”.  Nice idea Mom, but for the sake of sanity brevety, I’ll just keep it as it is.  Thanks for the suggestion, though.)

One thought on “The SSMO and the fiber art fair

Comments are closed.