The ultra-super secret object

I’m fickle.  Or maybe just a girl.  But I’ve changed my mind (again).  I am fascinated with the idea of making a shawl – one for my Mom, one for my Sister and one for ME.  I’m not sure why, but they (the shawls) seem like such practical things – they are light, fluffy, cozy and highly portable.  They are the perfect thing to take to the movies (we all know that movie theaters are FREEZING), or to a live theater, or just for a walk in the fall when it is too chilly for a t-shirt and too warm for a full blown jacket.  Who wouldn’t want a shawl?

So I started making a shawl for my Mom 2 summers ago.  It is nearly 3 feet long, which is nearing the home stretch, but it has one major flaw.  I need to frog about 20 rows and it is lace work and I don’t know how to do that.  I can’t knit backwards for 20 rows, so I’m rather at am impasse.  It has been sitting patiently for about a year now for me to figure out what to do with it.  But guess what?  I’ve figured it out.

I’m going to forget about it.

Yup, you read that correctly, I’ve decided NOT to finish the White Princess shawl.  Ever.

Because….

I found the PERFECT yarn this weekend and I’ve decided to make a different shawl for my Mom.  And then I’m going to find the perfect yarn for my Sister and make her the same shawl.  And…then I’m going to find the perfect yarn for me and make me the same shawl.  Three.  I’m going to make the three of us the same shawl.

So the ultra super secret part of this is that I don’t want my Mom to see it, and since she at times reads this blog (I would say she reads it every day, but I can’t, don’t know why) I can’t say too much about it.  But it is that shawl by the American designer that lives in France and the name of the shawl starts with a “C” and is pronounced in a very strange, french way.  I think you know which one I mean. 

I’ve wound the first skein and am ready to swatch…hopefully some time this week I can get to a store to get the right needles.

