Excercize, oh that #@$!@ (lovely) word

So I realize that it is not January 1, but I’ve decided to make a mid-year resolution. Goal: to swim a mile, straight, by the end of the year. I’m giving myself 6 months because there are some obstacles that I need to overcome. Like breathing. I know that this is a simple task, I’ve done it all my life, but when I was 13 I had valley fever.  While I don’t have recurring symptoms, I have noticed that when I don’t exercize on a regular basis my lungs actually hurt from not being able to breathe properly.  I find myself actually fighting to breathe.  So to say that I’m going to swim a mile, well that is quite a tall order.

So on Tuesday this week I went swimming for the first time in over 6 months.  I think I only swam 28 laps (700 yards/1760 yards=1 mile).  Today I was a little more organized and swam 32 laps.  Okay, well I didn’t actually *swim* those 32 laps, I *swam* 16 and kicked for 16, the total laps was 32. 

Week 1:  800 yards/ 400 full swim, 400 kick, 32 laps total

