The Harlot, redux

If you can remember back to the end of April, Kate and I took a trip down to Oak Lawn (about 50 miles away) to attend a book signing by an author that we both enjoy, Stephanie Pearl-McPhee, aka The Yarn Harlot.  The result of that trip was a cancelled flight for Stephanie and a $450 muffler repair for me.  Friday night was the rescheduled singing.  Here is the good, the bad and the ugly of the second trip to Oak Lawn.

Good.  Kate and I left at 3:15 instead of 3:30.  Any attempt to leave earlier in the day should result in better traffic.  Optimal word: should.

Ugly.  This is what I got stuck behind for about 10 miles of stop and crawl traffic.

back of truck 

Bad.  This is what we were chasing.

storm approaching 

Good.  This was my top speed, maintained for about 15 miles once we passed the O’Hare toll booth.

top speed on 204 during rush hour 

Good.  We got here at 5:10 PM, p-l-e-n-t-y of time to get to the hotel early and get good seats.

oak lawn water tower 

Bad.  This is what we came out to after a quick bite to eat.

rain 

Good.  We did get to the hotel early and were able to secure some really, really good seats.  Fourth row, directly in front of Stephanie.

waiting

Excellent.  Here she is.

 

Her talk was hilarious, to say the least.  If you’ve read one of her books, then you know what her humor is like.  It’s the same in person.  I personally love the way that she lifts knitters (and basically anyone in the fiber community) up and validates our craft.  People who are not passionate about knitting (aka non-knitters) have a hard time understanding the draw of fiber, technique, and projects. 

Bad.  There were about 200 people there (at least 200, possibly way more than that) and I had to stand in line for about an hour and twenty minutes. 

Good.  While standing in line the three ladies right behind me live up in my area (Libertyville, Lincolnshire and Lake Bluff) and we talked about knitting groups and getting connected.  It made the wait for the book signing extremely bearable and worth it.

All in all it was an excellent evening, even if I did get sick from eating Cold Stone at 10:30 at night.  Well worth the trip.

Hey, I even made onto her blog…check it out.  Scroll down until you see a block of photos…I’ll be in the “First sock brigade” section…pretty cool.  My dream came true.  Thanks, Kate, for being my sock coach!

