Knitters in Hiding

I recently spent an inordinate amount of time knitting in public.  I attended a conference in Nashville and took the BSJ sweater with me.  I made lots of progress:  I went from row 5 to row 60-something – I’m on the second row of increasing for those of you who have knit this wonderful little sweater before.  It is totally knit in garter which makes for much zooming along (unless you’re horrible at counting, which I am) and I suppose I’m about 1/4 of the way finished.

So you can see that there was a lot of knitting going on.  During breaks, at the beginning of a session, and during the general sessions.  In the hallway, in the lobby, in the atrium and in class rooms.  I wasn’t in hiding.

But can you believe that I encountered only 1 (ONE) other knitter, and that only by her admission?  ONE.  The only conclusions that I can draw are the following:

  1. No one in the conference community knits in public.
  2. No one in the conference community cares about fiber.
  3. All the knitters were in hiding.

Since the first two options seem rather horrific to me, I can only go with the third.

