Knitting in Nature

Well, since I have the Baby Hearts blanket finished, I’ve been working on the mittens.  I would be working on the socks since they are more practical, but I’m ready to “turn the heel” and I don’t know how to do that, so I’m waiting on those until Kate can teach me how.  Meanwhile, lest I forget the Magic Needle trick, I’ve been working on the mittens.  Oh, lookie what I have here, a picture.  I’m not sure DSC00541why this came out so whitewashed (overexposed), but you can get a small glimpse of the colorway.  The thing I like about these is that you can’t match them up, or at least I couldn’t (which isn’t saying much).  But you can see how well the 10-stitch cast on fits the hand better, whereas before, with 5 stitches, I could only get 3 fingers in – my pinkie decided it needed warmth too!

 

 

 

 

mitsonhandHere’s another picture.  I haven’t decided what I’m going to do yet when I get to the thumbs – I hope I remember that hands are mirrored and not exactly the same, otherwise I’ll end up with 2 righties or 2 lefties, which in the grand scheme of things isn’t all that bad – having one hand warm is at least 50% there.  Wish me luck on the thumb thing.

I also cast on last night for the Baby Surprise Jacket (Elizabeth Zimmerman) in a fantastic cotton yarn.  It is from Knit One Crochet Too and the colorway is Ty-Dy in a purple/blue/green (color #672/lot 4519).  I have 2 skeins of the purple/blue/green (196 yards each) and one in a green variegated that I will add to contrast the purple.  Here are the first photos ever taken (shhh, please don’t disturb the nature taking place here):

bsj_mccormick

 

  bsj_onbush

 

These were taken from the back of the library where my office is (Lake Forest College).  The building in the background is Hotchkiss Hall and is one of the oldest buildings on campus.  It used to be a women’s gym, complete with swimming pool, and now it houses the Psychology, Sociology and, I believe, the Anthropology departments.

