Mittens in May

After one false start and one frustrating start I finally have my mittens in the current queue.  I am making square top mittens using the Magic Needle method I learned back in April – knitting 2 mittens at the same time on one circular needle.  In the class we made "mini mittens" and since I was using the yarn that I had purchased to make the real ones, I frogged them and started over.  The first false start came when I realized that if I cast on the same number of stitches as for the mini mittens then I would, in fact, end up with…mini mittens.  My hands are small but not that small, so I frogged again and this time cast on for 10 stitches.  (For those of you out there who are extremely adept and experienced knitters, I need to make a clarification.  When I say that I cast on 10, what I actually mean is that there are 10 stitches on one needle and 10 stitches on the other needle.  I seem to have a mental block when it comes to circular knitting and how many stitches in total that I’m working with.)

After knitting 2 rounds I decided that I had no clue what I was doing and so decided to frog again and try for the third time.  Charm.  I am now half way down my hands and they are fitting like a glove..er, I mean mittens.

