Baby Hearts done – CHECK

Hey, guess what?  I finally finished the Baby Hearts blanket!  Whopee!  And, better yet, I delivered it to the parents on Saturday.  I must say that I think it turned out better than I had expected.  I was going to knit the border on, but after about 3 rounds it was not looking too good – the corners were giving me problems.  So early on Saturday morning I frogged the borders and decided to crochet them instead.  I did one round of 1/2 crochet, one round of single crochet and one round of a picot edging, just to give interest.  It didn’t fold over too much and the pink yarn that I found was absolutely perfect to crochet with.  I’ll have pictures tomorrow.

So, with one thing crossed of the task list, I decided to cast on for another project yesterday – can’t afford to waste any time.  I cast on for the  mittens, two at a time, tip to cuff, on one long circular needle.  This is the new technique that I learned about a month ago on my adventure to Cedarville, IL and the Stephenson Country Fiber Art Fair.  This was the first chance I’ve had to rip out what I had learned and to cast on again, this time for real-life mittens instead of little mini-mittens.  I only had to cast on twice, the first time I somehow got 4 stitches on the bottom and 5 on the top of one of the mittens.  Second time around was the charm.  I’ll have photos on those tomorrow as well.

I did have the opportunity to watch 4 movies over the weekend.  I rented these:

image

Moliere – it is about the French playwright, Moliere and it is in French with English subtitles.  Very good movie – I enjoyed it very much.

 

 

 

image

Into the Wild is a very strange movie.  It is supposedly based on a real story and it is about a young man who discovers that his parents are not really married – in fact his Dad is still married to some one else and has a child by her.  So after college and playing the "dutiful son" part, he decides to become nothing.  He destroys his identity, donates everything to charity and ends up losing his car.  He then treks across America ending up in Alaska, where he will eventually die.  It was okay.

image

I read this book a few years ago and thought that Khaled Hosseini did a beautiful job writing the story.  It is sad and uplifting at the same time.  Because I loved the book so much I was torn as to whether or not I wanted to see the movie.  While there were some minor differences, they did a really good job telling the story on film.  The characters were brought to life and the dangers/perils of the life in Afghanistan were very dramatically portrayed.  I would watch this again.

image

Finally, Partition is set in 1940’s India and the migration of Muslims and Hindus between Pakistan and India.  This was also a good story, some of which is in Indian and some in English, but very sad at the end.  Well worth the watch.

