Knitting at church

I suppose that to most people the idea of knitting while at church might just seem a bit, well.., heretical.  I actually find it to be quite a worshipping experience.  I’m singing, tithing, listening and being enriched by the sermon, all while actually doing something pleasing with my hands.  I have to admit, though, that I try to do it in such a way that it doesn’t actually bother anyone else.

I’ve been doing this for a while now and have not had any problems – until yesterday, that is.  I arrived a little early, went inside the sanctuary, found a seat and started knitting.  I had just finished one side of one sock when worship started.  So I set it down and picked it up again when I had a chance.  The bad thing about knitting in church is when you make a mistake you have to keep it quiet and to yourself.  Well, when I picked up the knitting again I didn’t double check which needle I was knitting with and, well, I picked up the wrong one and started knitting. 

When I realized it, I thought "hey, I can fix this – no problem."  I did fix it by taking one side off the needles completely and putting it back on.  But, and here is the really bad part…I still didn’t pick up the right set of needles.  So I ended up with one sock facing one way and the other sock facing the other way.  ARG. 

Ok, I thought again to myself "hey, taking it off the needles last time worked well, let’s do it again…but with taking the sock completely off…" – I’m sure you know where I’m going with this…I ended up dropping stitches like flies.  So I put it down and sat very still and listened to the preacher.  I guess that’s what I get for knitting in church.

BTW – All is well with the socks now.  I didn’t even put them in time out.

